Pretty Blue Rose

life musings and inspiration

Wednesday Wisdom: Choose Your Own Adventure

5 Comments

Does anyone remember the Choose Your Own Adventure books?

 

File:Cave of time.jpg

Each story is written from a second-person point of view, with the reader assuming the role of the protagonist which  allows you to make choices that determine the main character’s actions in response to the plot and its outcome.

I  loved those books so much as a child and I recently got back into reading them as an adult. I think I like them even more now because these books give me the opportunity to think through strategies for next steps, observe how my choices played out, and learn lessons from my choices in a totally painless way (even if I die in the book). If I make a “mistake” I can back track and undo my mistake in order to progress through the story. I always “win”!

Although Choose Your Own Adventure books are great for strategizing and learning lessons from mistakes, in real life we must remember to move forward even if we don’t know how everything will play out.

There are a few things I am working on that honestly, I have no idea how they will turn out. I am not sure if they will be a waste of time, but I am going to push on away. I wish I had the luxury of seeing how things will play out and then if I don’t like what I see, I can backtrack and choose another adventure–one that gives me the outcome I want. But that’s not how life works. We must keep going, making midcourse corrections along the way.

So, let’s be grateful we can choose our own adventure, but we should see the dead ends and mistakes as a sign we are stepping outside of our comfort zone—it means  we are truly living.

Enjoy the adventure.

A.G.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Wisdom: Choose Your Own Adventure

  1. I truly believe in creating the adventure. Mistakes allow us a chance to reassess our decisions and redirect our efforts to improve ourselves and our situation. Continue to encourage other, as you have encouraged me.

    T. Whitehead

  2. Great advice! I have always been afraid to make mistakes, meaning i play it safe! Mistakes are a part of life and growing up! Thanks for the great post today.

    • I don’t like to make mistakes at all! Those books make the pain and frustration of mistakes non-existent, but in reality mistakes grow us. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Wow! What a flashback..Those books were amazing in that they showed how many different paths a decision could take us down. I loved that you did not have to go through an entire book to find out the ending, unlike in real life..lol. But your comment about moving forward despite not knowing the end is crucial for folks like me to remember. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

