Pretty Blue Rose

life musings and inspiration

Wednesday Wisdom: Don’t wait until 2018…

Leave a comment

Buddha described the human mind as being filled with drunken monkeys, flinging themselves from tree branches, jumping around, and chattering nonstop. He meant that our minds are in constant motion,  “unsettled; restless; capricious; whimsical; fanciful; inconstant; confused; indecisive; uncontrollable.”

Um… yes, that’s me! As a creative person in particular, I can have quite the monkey mind. In addition to day to day of life, I also have ideas constantly flowing in and out of my head. And then on top of that,  I try to grab on to those ideas in the moment so I don’t forget them. How do you gather up and then execute umping/flinging ideas? Not a good recipe for success.

So… in addition to meditation, I decided to get a planner. Not just any planner, (because I’ve used planners before when I was suuuper type A) but this time I bought a super trendy (and expensive) customizable planner from Erin Condren, some of you may have seen it on my Instagram, if not here it is:

 

IMG_1968                                                        IMG_1969

 

IMG_1967
The version I selected has three vertical sections. While some people divide the sections into morning, afternoon, and evening,  I decided to divide my sections into Home, Dance (which includes teaching), and Writing/creative entrepreneurship. (I am pretty pleased my planner has nothing has to do with work 🙂 My day job has its own lengthy and never ending to-do list, but those tasks stay on their own notepad.)

After playing around with this planner for a little, I realized it was causing me to think about and plan for 2018, which is a great thing. It is very exciting and sexy to start thinking of new goals in January, but why don’t we start planning now? Think about the things you want for next year like health or business-related goals, and start to plan for them now. Start to put things in place now so come January 2018 you are continuing on what you started rather than getting started on something new with everyone else. I am already planning for and researching things I plan to do in 2019.

Getting started now,

A.G.

Leave a Reply

