Pretty Blue Rose

life musings, fashion, and inspiration

Wednesday Wisdom: Cuddle up with Ted

Leave a comment

Note: this is up a little later than usual. Lightening struck right behind our house  yesterday and we needed to replace our modem because we had no internet. Up and running now 🙂
Lol… so for those of you who know me personally, you know my husband’s name is not Ted…so who is Ted and why am I cuddling up with him?
Backstory: So my close friend and I have been on a fast for the last week. I need some clarity and direction on a few things, and I find if I remove something and add something for a set amount of time, I can still my mind and hear what God wants me to hear. I started the fast by thinking I was going to go without dinner, but there have been too many parties and/or family visiting town so I nixed that and decided to give up Hulu and Netflix, especially in the evenings.
My addition is getting back to yoga. I can run around all day practically holding my breath.  Meditating and doing yoga in the morning forces me to breathe and slow down before I launch into my day. I’m more thoughtful and focused all day– you should give it a try.

So that leads me to my new boo (or bae… did I use that correctly?)Ted. Since I had more time in the evenings, I needed something positive to do. I’m sure many of you heard of Ted Talks, so that’s my Ted and I’m in love. I cuddle up in my chair or bed and listen to amazing Ted Talk speakers. They lift me up and give advice that have changed my life.

Here’s a few that I would recommend:

Mel Robbins: I bought her audible book called the 5 second rule–with in the last two days I’ve accomplished so much! It’s amazing. (more later!) I am going to do a post on her book.
Her Ted Talk is called: How to Stop Screwing Yourself.  https://youtu.be/Lp7E973zozc
Dr. Ivan Joseph: The Skill of Self Confidence https://youtu.be/w-HYZv6HzAs
Guy Winch: How to practice emotional hygiene https://youtu.be/rni41c9iq54
enjoy.
Letting Ted lift me up,
A.G.
Leave a Reply

