Pretty Blue Rose

life musings, fashion, and inspiration

Wednesday Wisdom: Forward Momentum

Leave a comment

 

(Not so) Secretly I am a big physics geek, specifically particle physics. I love learning about strange and charm quarks and other elementary particles. I love understanding that the “God Particle” was really a marketing term for the Higgs Boson and it was an anticipated, but missing piece of the Standard Model until it was confirmed in 2013. Professor Sean Carroll has taught me about Large Hadron Collider (largest man made machine in the world) and Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson has walked me through the beautiful Cosmos (on Netflix). Morgan Freeman takes me Through the Wormhole on the science channel, and I’ll read just about anything dark matter… but I digress. The truth is I almost failed physics in high school and any physics-related math makes my eyes glaze over and my ears hurt. Nonetheless, I find the laws of physics useful for life.

So on Mother’s Day,  my daughter rode her bike while my husband and I jogged behind/beside her (well…I was beside her because I was keeping up, the husband was behind–hehehe). I knew I would be eating well that day, and wanted to preemptively burn some calories.

 

Ok so, back to the bike ride…my daughter is pretty good at riding her bike without training wheels, but we always need to remind her to pedal, especially when she’s taking off.  When she starts off, because she is moving slow, she starts swerving… badly!

Bikes are stable when they are moving forward because it allows the bike’s points of support under the center of gravity to keep it balanced. That’s just jibber jabber for moving forward keeps you upright, which allows you to keep moving forward.

On days when it’s hard, or when you are just starting off in pursuit of your dreams, don’t look around, don’t try to ease into it, just keep pedaling forward because the  swerving will cease and momentum will take over. I don’t always believe this, but sometimes it’s true…the hardest part is getting started.

Pedaling forward,

A.G.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

