Pretty Blue Rose

life musings and inspiration

Thursday Throwback: The Baby-Sitters Club

2 Comments

Hulu has the first (and only?) season of the Baby-Sitters Club! I cannot wait to dive in and watch, but part of me is scared to watch it because it will remind me that I’m getting older.
I am outing my age, but I was in love with the Baby-sitters club growing up. My entrepreneurial spirit encouraged me to start a baby-sitters club (several times!) and my childhood BFF and next door neighbor was the only member. We’d have meetings on my back deck and talk about our marketing plans and fliers. We even had a client! (I recall the baby I watched threw up on me! My neighbor had to walk to get her mom to help me out…)
In any case, I loved those books and I could devour a super series book in one afternoon. I was dumbfounded when I found out a few years ago that they were out of print.
To my delight, I recently discovered a store called 2nd in Charles and it sells used books and whole bunch of other second hand things. When I tuned the corner and found they had most of the baby sitters club books, I about lost my mind. (I love Nancy Drew too, more on that later.)
IMG_0174

Shopping at 2nd and Charles. Forget makeup, I want books!

842B2531-193F-41A9-85C2-FCB3FE14DF8D

A seat full of Baby Sitters Club books!!

IMG_0175

All of my spoils laid out on the floor.

I was a ballet dancer like Jessie, ambitious like Kristy (I refuse to say bossy!), and shy and sensitive like Mary Anne–my favorite character.
Take a look at how a fellow Baby-sitters club lover put together collages of the members. (she did a fab job!) Enjoy!
Stacey (The Babysitter's Club)
2 thoughts on “Thursday Throwback: The Baby-Sitters Club

  1. Omg they should totally recreate this movie with these characters the Baby Sitters Club reunion! I love it and Hessi of course was my favorite too. Girl go to the thrift store and find them, they are instant classics now. I’m so happy I grew up in this era to appreciate this series. Thanks for sharing from a fellow BLMGIRL 😉

    I’m gonna follow you on BlogLovin!

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting!! I totally hear you about being happy that these books were apart of our childhood. Thanks for following me:) I’m headed over to your site right now…

Leave a Reply

