Pretty Blue Rose

The style of life…with some wisdom mixed in.

Wednesday Wisdom: Stop trying to figure it all out!!!

Leave a comment

I think I’ve uncovered the one thing that keeps many people from realizing their dreams—and that’s trying to figure out how it will happen, when it will happen, and who will help you get there before you purposefully move forward.

As you all know, my day job as an analyst is very far away from dancing and the fact that I haven’t been doing what I love on a daily basis is hard to deal with most days. For as long as I can remember I’ve had visions of dancing around the world, teaching master classes, taking master classes, and having a studio space to foster others’ gifts related to dance, singing, acting etc.

Now dreaming is great and having a clear vision is wonderful, but I realized that trying to figure out how all of my dreams would come to pass, especially as my life exists now, has kept me from moving forward.

Reasoning how I am going to find the energy to dance after commuting and work, family time, blogging, home improvements, and everything else had me stuck. Then I also thought that even if I did have the energy to pursue dancing, with the millions of other better, more talented, and more dedicated dancers where would I fit in? (so why try?)

So in addition to trying to figure it all out, I then doubted it would happen even if I could find the energy–and both thoughts were huge hindrances to moving forward.The reality is that God’s plans are infinitely better than mine yet I was trying to figure out how He could make it work. And to my limited mind it really doesn’t work at all. I see absolutely No Way my current path crosses with the path that leads to my vision.

It’s like my current career/trajectory is me walking left when I so badly want to be walking right. I argued with God asking, why would you give me this vision, this dream if it cannot and will not come to pass??!!

But what I have forgotten is that 3 left turns actually makes a right (I’ll pause to let you visualize that) and although I feel like none of what I am doing now is connected to my passion, my dreams , and the vision for my life I am going to stop trying to figure it out. Every step I take on the way to my destiny will NOT be one that makes sense, gives me chills, or makes me swoon. But every step IS necessary.

Believing that it all will work out means I can walk forward without kicking and screaming about where I am now. I will no longer think this is a mistake. I will rest assure that every step I take in the seemingly wrong direction is ordained by God and every dream I have will manifest.

So what’s my plan of action now that I’ve have all of these realizations?

Well, I think my job is to hone my talent daily through learning new choreography, working on my own choreography, staying inspired, eating healthy, and staying in shape. (and then taking a class or two a week to reinforce.) I’ll do my job and allow God do to His.

I’m looking forward to sharing my journey back to dance with you:)

Here’s a picture of my new flooring for my in home studio!! We went to lowes to look for a microwave and ended up with flooring for my studio!

(hey if someone knows where I can purchase mirrors I’d love a heads up!)

A. Genise

PS. Happy First Day of Spring (for the folks in the northern hemisphere!)

Leave a Reply

