Pretty Blue Rose

The style of life…with some wisdom mixed in.

The Lazy Shopper: Target (part 1)

4 Comments

Quick recap on the Lazy Shopper Series: We are busy. For various reasons shopping is usually not fun. And it’s annoying when you think you have a several new outfits, but you only end up with 2 because the pieces you bought weren’t considered in the larger context of your wardrobe.

My Lazy Shopper Series seeks to address those shopping issues by picking pieces from one store and putting together multiple outfits to show you how they all work together. My first stop was J. Crew and that was a pretty popular (and admittedly expensive) post. So let’s move to the other side of the continuum and head over to Target (face it, you’re already there for cake mix and towels (or toys!) anyways…). I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised!

Ok yall, I had way too much fun with Target. I really like the way their stuff is looking this spring season. So this collection has over 15 looks ranging from weekend casual to work wear for late winter through late spring .

Here’s my challenge:

1 store

all items are $30 or less (yes really!!)

10 clothing items

5 accessories (including shoes)

Check out my picks:

Pretty Blue Style: Target's One Stop Shop

Shopping tips:

Remember I’ve said blazers are a great staple, silver shoes are a must do, and wedges are my favorite shoe. White, navy, and camel are my neutrals for this collection and my two accent colors are rose and teal.

So let’s see what outfits my selections get us:

Pretty Blue Style: Target's One Stop Shop (pt 1)

So above, I used the navy and white sheath dress, that’s a bit more on the casual side and I dressed it up with each of the blazers. Notice, I used the navy shoes with the rose colored blazer to make sure the blazer was the focus. In the center, I matched the camel colored jacket and shoes. The ruffles make the camel blazer less formal. And to the right, the teal blazer is offset with silver. Again when you don’t know what shoes to match with an outfit, chances are silver will work. The addition of the silver bangles makes the silver shoes look purposeful rather than accidental.

Pretty Blue Style: Target's One Stop Shop (pt 2)

I was really feelin’ the teal A-line skirt. The teal wedges were selected because I thought they kept the skirt playful. In the third outfit from the left, the teal skirt allowed me to introduce the print shirt. The navy background is neutral and the teal and camel colors work with my color palette nicely. The navy pumps dress up the shirt and make it work friendly, but the teal and camel colored wedges would work as well.

Pretty Blue Style: Target's One Stop Shop (pt 3)

Hands down this navy pleated skirt is my favorite piece in this collection. It’s only $20 and there are 7 different colors. (I’m that girl that when I do like something and find a good fit I get it as many colors as I can afford– this skirt would be one of those cases…) The left three outfits are for work and the one to the right (my favorite) is a cute weekend outfit. The wedges make the pleated skirt more casual. Looove it!

Pretty Blue Style: Target's One Stop Shop (pt 4)

I only selected one pair of pants for this entire collection and they were the light teal color so that they went with the shirts that the teal skirt works with. To the left, I’ve chosen a semi-monochromatic look. Different shades of the same color family (teal). I’ve been doing that more lately and I like it. See my purple version here.

Although I’ve only shown the camel colored blazer with the jeans, all of them would work (just remember if you pick the rose colored blazer either keep the shoes neutral with silver or match the jeans and pick the teal wedges). Lastly, I brought back my trusty print shirt and dressed it up with some navy patent leather pumps. I would tuck the shirt in and it could work for a early spring casual Friday look.

I like these outfits so much, I was really about to just buy everything. Since I did the hard work of making sure everything worked together, shouldn’t I reap the benefits?

What do you all think? And since I was so in love in my Target finds, I’m working on a part 2 (I really had such a hard time only picking 10 pieces that I just did another collection!)

Happy shopping and enjoy the weekend:)

A. Genise

4 thoughts on “The Lazy Shopper: Target (part 1)

  1. Great advice!

  2. Great Tips! and Great Finds! 🙂

Leave a Reply

