Pretty Blue Rose

life musings, fashion, and inspiration

Throwback Thursday: Ol’ School Candy

4 Comments

Music, food, and scents are things that can instantly take you back in time . When I saw a picture of the strawberry candies below, I was instantly taken to my maternal grandmothers house in Philadelphia. When I would visit, she would leave them in her candy dish and I would demolished them all weekend. I just love them and her. Those candies bring back such good memories. (now that I think about it, she was probably refilling them so I didn’t get in trouble, however her trash cans were full of those shiny wrappers!)

Strawberry Hard Candy

Who doesn’t remember candy necklaces?! So fashionable, yet so tasty. Oh the days!

OK, yes I did take it back to the candy cigarettes that were bubble gum and blew smoke. Now-a-days this would be so taboo, but back in the 80’s these were soooo cool:)

Six feet of bubble gum, for you not them! I think that was their slogan. What on earth was I doing with that much bubble gum? Oh I remember, trying to make sure it didn’t hit the floor…

Watermelon candy was such a favorite candy of mine. Did they used to be 5 for a penny?

There are many many more throwback sweets, what am I missing?

Stay inspired and enjoy the sweet journey,

A. Genise

4 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: Ol’ School Candy

  1. I had the cigarettes from the ice cream truck! We did think we were so cool!

    http://www.goodlooknout.com

  2. Remember frooties at cJ’s for a penny! OMG i was thinking about grandma’s house with those strawberry candies too! It’s amazing how food can remind you of someone and make you smile! Great post!

Leave a Reply

