Pretty Blue Rose

The style of life…with some wisdom mixed in.

Throwback Thursday:Board Games

8 Comments

When I see my daughter playing angry birds on my phone (she’s killin’ it though…) my heart sinks because I think it will be much harder as she gets older to convince her that board games are fun. Perhaps it won’t be as hard as I think, if I just play it cool and don’t over sell board games (kids can tell when they are being sold on something).

In honor of my childhood and the fun I had with board games, I’ve picked five of my favorite board games for today’s throwback.

Perfection

Photo: Thank you LeeAnn for sharing this with us

At a young age, I thrived on the stress of trying to get something done quickly and precisely. (sick maybe?)

Trouble

My best memory of playing this game was with my Godmother. She is competitive and that the time so was I (notice I said at the time, like I’m not now…). She would always land on my guys and we would just laugh and laugh.

Mouse Trap

Mouse Trap

I never actually owned this game, and truth be told, I still don’t know the premise of the game. When I would go over to my friend’s house (who owned the game), we would just set up the trap and run it over and over and laugh!

Clue!! (my fav)

I have a Nancy Drew reputation. I love to figure things out. I love the little cheesy cozy murder mystery books about Yoga studios and Bed and Breakfasts–I cannot get enough! (side note, my hubby always gives me the side-eye when I read or purchase more of those books, he jokes that I’m learning how to make “it” look like an accident).

My love of murder mysteries probably stems from my early days of playing and loving Clue. (I was pretty good and so was my mom, actually). I have a few Clue board games in my house (including the one with a DVD) but no one ever wants to play.

Connect Four

Another strategy game, yet again…

So, I’ve just learned something about myself. I’ve always been an observant strategist. Hmmm…

Are there any games that you’d like to add?

8 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday:Board Games

  1. Awww yes to all of these! My favorite was SIMON! I used to LOVE THAT GAME! Wait…is that considered a board game? LOL. I did a post about my 90s childhood today on my blog! 😉

  2. You are so right, I am lucky enough that my son hasn’t gotten too into electronic/computer games..I always made sure to give him other alternatives, I was afraid once he got hooked we’d have a problem. Now that he is starting to understand game he is 4…I bought him some of my favorites like “perfection” which he calls the pop up game, “Operation” and “Connect 4” which he calls he pattern game, LOL…. he is enjoying them and I am enjoying playing with him as wel.

  3. Now that I think about it, Perfection is probably the reason I’m so jumpy lol! I loved Trouble, and this other game–I think it was called “Don’t Wake Dad” where you had to make it around the board without making the Dad doll pop out of a big bed in the middle of the board.

  4. I loved Trouble, Operation and Simon! Oh! Uno too!

Leave a Reply

