Pretty Blue Rose

life musings and inspiration

Pretty Good Times: The Hayride and Lights

Leave a comment

Most of yesterday was blah. I’ve been fighting this sore throat–not quite head cold thing for a few days. (Yuk!) And I had a lot on my agenda: early church service, Marshall’s for some gifts, Costco for bags and bows (Target’s prices are a too high), wrapping gifts, finish hanging ornaments, laundry, and then some good old blogging while everyone was napping. I always start my days with a long to do list and yesterday it went no where. (Wow, typing that list I see I always try to do too much–who doesn’t?!–but no excuse!)

So after missing church, and not being able to get it together enough to get myself dressed to head to the store, I started wrapping some gifts with the kid (that endeavor mostly sounded like: please stop!, don’t touch that, wait you’ll rip it! don’t cut there!, please put the tape ON the line…)

I also started some laundry (really just carried it to the basement), but I needed a do over. The more the day went on, the more that I didn’t do, the worse my mood became (my poor hubby!). My to-do list kept growing…

My kind husband nicely suggested that I go to bed and also that I should throw away the stupid to-do list. (so I did!)

Now the reason I was (more) conscious of time was because at 6pm my friend and I made plans to take our families’ on a hayride through our local lights display. So the prepping (getting everyone dressed in warm clothes–finding the warm clothes…) and dinner eating needed to start around 5. (which meant all of the things I wanted to get done needed to be done by like 4, so I could take a small nap too).

Fast forward to about 5 minutes before we were to leave, it started pouring. The storm was supposed to pass, so we loaded up and headed over to the park–worst case we would see the lights from our car.

Well we got there, the rain slowed down (and eventually stopped) and can I tell you, we all had a blast!

They kept the hay covered so it didn’t get wet!

The evening’s fresh air was enough to make any bad mood go away, but the lights were so fun and festive –it was just a great experience. The kids had a blast and we even stopped at the nature house for some pictures by the fire place and some warm apple cider (my hubby found out he loooves warm apple cider).

I kept thinking how my to-do list really ruined my day, but how happy I was to get out and just enjoy life. I’m already looking forward to next year!

Best,

A. Genise

PS: See prettybluerose.com for pictures!!!

Leave a Reply

